Out and Ally List

The following people have given us their names, committing themselves as resources to LGBTQ folks at Mason.The list includes Mason students, faculty and staff who have been Safe Zone trained and/or who are willing to be publicly out as members of LGBTQ communities. If you would like to be listed as a resource in either or both of these ways, please complete and submit this form!

“Coming Out” is the process of becoming aware, accepting in oneself, and then letting others know about, one’s sexuality and/or gender identity. This list is also about honoring and celebrating that process; honoring the courage of all LGBTQ people regardless of their choices about coming out, because it is not always safe to do so.

If there is an error in your information or you would like to be removed from our site, please email to let us know.

Name Gender Pronouns Out as LGBTQ identified Safe Zone Trained Role at Mason Department/Major Email
Abby Picard she/her/hers Yes Yes Social Outreach Coordinator, Pride Alliance Social Work, BSW Program apicard@gmu.edu
Alex Bodenham He, Him, His Yes Yes Chief Marketing and Recruitment Officer College of Education & Human Development abodenha@gmu.edu
Alissa Karton she/her/hers Yes Assistant to the VP University Life akarton@gmu.edu
Allan Weiss he/him/his/himself Yes Department Manager Dept. of Global and Community Health aweiss@gmu.edu
Allie Minieri she/her/hers Yes Assistant Director, Clinical Services Counseling and Psychological Services aminieri@gmu.edu
Amber Duffey she/her/hers Yes Assistant Director Student Involvement aduffey3@gmu.edu
Amber Hampton she/her/hers Yes Associate Director Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Multicultural Education ahampto@gmu.edu
Amy Crummie She/Her Yes Freshman College of Humanities and Social Science acrummi2@gmu.edu
Amy Snyder she/her/hers Yes Director of Special Projects for University Life University Life asnyder@gmu.edu
Ana Carolina Machado Silva She/Her/Hers Yes Student Staff, Residents Advisor English Literature Major amachad3@masonlive.gmu.edu
Andrea Martinez she/her/hers Yes
Assistant Director
Student Involvement amarti81@gmu.edu
Andrew E Bunting He/Him/His Yes Yes Senior Assistant Director of Admissions Office of Admissions abunting@gmu.edu
Anne Magro Yes Yes Associate Dean for Academic Affairs School of Business- Accounting amagro@gmu.edu
Ashkan Abousaeedi He/Him/His Yes Yes Undergraduate/Former Pride Alliance Execboard Forensic Science Department aabousae@gmu.edu
Avery McNaughton she/her/hers Yes Resident Director Housing & Residence Life lmcnaug2@gmu.edu
Aysha Puhl She her hers Yes Yes Associate Director Student Leadership Programs & Coordinator for Project Peak Center for Academic Advising, Retention and Transitions apuhl@gmu.edu
Bess Dieffenbach  She/Her/Hers Yes Staff IRB Manager edieffen@gmu.edu
Bethany Usher She/her/hers Yes Director Students as Scholars, OSCAR busher@gmu.edu
Bette Clark Yes Staff School of Business bclark1@gmu.edu
Brenlee Shipps she/her/hers Yes Yes Desk Assistant Housing bshipps@gmu.edu
Brian he/him/his Yes Adviser Global and Community Health bgillett@gmu.edu
Carrie Grabo she/her/hers Yes Undergraduate Coordinator History and Art History Department cgrabo1@gmu.edu
Cathy Saunders she/her/hers Yes Faculty English csaunde1@gmu.edu
Christian Barber He/Him/His Yes Yes Assistant Director of Residence Life Housing & Residence Life cbarber6@gmu.edu
Christine Bobal she/her/hers Yes Yes English Language Faculty INTO Mason cbobal2@gmu.edu
Christy Pichichero She/her/hers Yes Yes Assistant Professor of French Modern and Classical Languages cpichich@gmu.edu
Clare Yordy she/her/hers Yes Student Psychology and Theater cyordy@masonlive.gmu.edu
Clayton Willis He/Him/His Yes Yes Resident Adviser Dance cwillis4@gmu.edu
Collette Lawson Yes Yes Staff Public & International Affairs
Conor O’Malley He/Him Yes Alumni and current Peace Corps Volunteer in Morocco Class of 2012 Comalle1@gmail.com
Corrine House Yes Yes Adjunct Instructor Communications chouse1@gmu.edu
Craig Willse him/him/his Yes Faculty Cultural Studies cwillse@gmu.edu
Cynthia Beck Yes Yes Professor Biology cbeck@gmu.edu
Cynthia Fuchs she her Yes Professor and director of FAMS FAMS/FAVS, English Department cfuchs@gmu.edu
David Kravitz Yes Faculty School of Business- Management Department dkravtiz@gmu.edu
David Powers Corwin He/Him/His Yes Yes Program Coordinator Women and Gender Studies dcorwin@gmu.edu
Doris Bitler Davis Yes Faculty Psychology dbitler@gmu.edu
Dr. Kahan Sablo He/Him/His Yes Asst. VP University Life ksablo@gmu.edu
Drew Ensz he/him/his Yes Campus Minister Arise Campus Ministry aensz@gmu.edu
Dustin Cone He/him/his Yes Freshman Student Dominion dcone@masonlive.gmu.edu
Earle Reybold Yes Faculty College of Education & Human Development ereybold@gmu.edu
Ekaterina Gaetjens she/her Yes Student egaetjen@masonlive.gmu.edu
Elizabeth Schierbeek she/her/hers Yes  Student  Integrative Studies with a concentration in Social Justice and Human Rights eschierb@gmu.edu
Elizabeth Mathews she/her/hers Yes Undergraduate Student History emathew2@masonlive.gmu.edu
Elysia Lash she/her/hers Yes Yes Associate Director University Life Assessment, Research, and Retention elash@gmu.edu
Emma Pilgrim they/them/theirs Yes Student Government: Undersecretary of Identity Affairs Global Affairs epilgrim@gmu.edu
Eric Nolan Gonzaba He/his/him Yes Graduate Research Assistant/PhD Student Department of History and Art History egonzaba@gmu.edu
Erica Hernandez she Yes Customer Operations Manager Admissions ehernan1@gmu.edu
Garey Davis Assistant Director Office of Diversity, Inclusion, & Multicultural Education
Giovanna Chesler she/ her Yes Director and Associate Professor Film and Video Studies gchesler@gmu.edu
Grace Francis She her Yes Faculty Finely (CEHD) gfranci4@gmu.edu
Graham Ferguson he/him/his Yes Yes Undergraduate student Communication/Theatre Gfergus4@masonlive.gmu.edu
Grant Haver he/him/his Yes Yes Employer Relations Coordinator
University Career Services
ehaver@gmu.edu
Graziella Pagliarulo McCarron she/her/hers Yes Faculty School of Integrative Studies
gmccarro@gmu.edu
Heather Anderson She/her Yes Director of Academic Affiars and Advising, Honors College Honors College handers4@gmu.edu
Heidi Graff Yes Yes Mason LIFE
Program Director
Kellar Institute for Human disAbilities hgraff@gmu.edu
Howard Kurtz Yes Yes Faculty Theater / College of Visual and Performing Arts hkurtz@gmu.edu
Irina Tchernoskoutova they/them/theirs Yes Undergraduate Student Government and International Politics itcherno@masonlive.gmu.edu
Jamila Carter She/Her Yes Student Government jcarte34@gmu.edu
Janette Muir Yes Associate Provost, Undergraduate Education Provost’s Office jmuir@gmu.edu
Jason Byrd he/him Yes Yes Faculty Fenwick Library jbyrd10@gmu.edu
Jayna Tavarez she/her/hers Yes Yes Project Assistant for LGBTQ Resources; Graduate Assistant for Housing and Residence Life Social Justice and Human Rights (School of Integrative Studies) jtavare3@gmu.edu
Jeannie Brown Leonard she/her/hers Yes Dean Student Academic Affairs- Advising, Retention, & Transitions
Jeff Pollard he, his, him Yes Adjunct Faculty Criminology, Law, & Society pollard2@gmu.edu
Jeff Young He, Him, His Yes Yes Grad Student School of Integrative Studies jyoung34@gmu.edu
Jen Barnard she/her/hers Yes Yes Staff Modern and Classical Languages jbarnard@gmu.edu
Jennifer Atkinson Yes Faculty English/Creative Writing jatkins2@gmu.edu
Jesse Lawson RN, BSN, LMT he/him/his Yes Graduate Student College of Health and Human Services JLawson3@gmu.edu
Jessica Adams she/her/hers Yes Executive Administrative Assistant University Life jadams15@gmu.edu
Jessica Machado she/her/hers Yes Assistant Director Disability Services jmachado@gmu.edu
Jillian Rogero Zie/Zir Yes Office Coordinator OSCAR jrogero@gmu.edu
Joani Bedore Yes Yes Faculty Communications jbedore@gmu.edu
Joe Maxwell Yes Faculty College of Education & Human Development jmaxwell@gmu.edu
John Holt he/him/his Yes Student/Academic Advisor BA Psychology & Government/ MA Political Science jholt12@masonlive.gmu.edu
Jonathan May Yes Yes Assistant Director Center for Academic Advising, Retention, and Transitions jmay3@gmu.edu
Joshua Gonsher he/him/his Yes Psychology Intern CAPS jgonsher@gmu.edu
Joya Crear She, Her and Hers Yes Associate Dean University Life jcrear@gmu.edu
Judith vanBever-Green she/her/hers Yes Yes Executive Director International Programs and Services jagreen@gmu.edu
Julie Choe Kim She/Her/Hers Yes Director Graduate Student Life ychoekim@gmu.edu
Juliet Blank-Godlove Yes Associate Dean
of Students
University Life jblank@gmu.edu
Julio Diaz he/him/his Yes Staff University Life Central & Dean of Students Office jdiaz6@gmu.edu
Kaleb Lewis he/him/his Yes Assistant Director for Career Services School of Business klewis31@gmu.edu
Kara Smith she/her/hers Yes Yes Academic Advisor Computer Science ksmith70@gmu.edu
Kareema Smith
she/her/hers Yes Student Success Coordinator
Honors College, Mason Hall D205
ksmith32@gmu.edu
Karen Wolf she/her/hers Yes Staff Office of Tech Integration, University Life kwolf1@gmu.edu
Katharine Rupp she/her/hers Yes
Office Manager
Center for Social Science Research krupp@gmu.edu
Katherine Skipper she/her/hers Yes Faculty INTO Mason kskipper@gmu.edu
Kathleen Wage she/her/hers Yes Yes Associate Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering kwage@gmu.edu
Katie Richards
she/her/hers Yes Administrative Coordinator Higher Education Program kricha22@gmu.edu
Kylie Stamm she/her/hers Yes
Assistant Director
Diversity, Inclusion, and Multicultural Education
kstamm@gmu.edu
Keith Clark he/him/his Yes Professor English/African and African American Studies kclark1@gmu.edu
Keith Renshaw he/him/his Yes Associate Professor Psychology krenshaw@gmu.edu
Kimberly Bellamy she/her/hers Yes
Manager, Industry Advising and Employer Development
University Career Services kbellam2@gmu.edu
Kimberly Eby She, her, hers Yes Associate Provost for Faculty Development and Enrichment Office of the Provost keby1@gmu.edu
Laura Spence Yes Student-Undergrad not defined lspence3@gmu.edu
Lauren Long Yes Director Office of Student Involvement llong3@gmu.edu
Lauren Reuscher She/her/hers Yes Integrated Campuses Manager University Information lclarkg@gmu.edu
Lawrence Butler he etc. Yes associate professor of art history Dept of History
& Art History
lbutler@gmu.edu
Leah Adams she/her/hers Yes Faculty Psychology/ Women & Gender Studies ladamse@gmu.edu
Lesley Irminger she/her/hers Yes Yes Events Coordinator University Events lirminge@gmu.edu
Libby Stevens she/her/hers Yes Office Manager School of Theater esteven6@gmu.edu
Lindy Brooks She/Her/Hers Yes Student Biology lbrook17@masonlive.gmu.edu
Lisa Hill-Corley she/her/hers Yes Admin Assistant Economics lhillcor@gmu.edu
Lisa Snyder Yes Associate Director Leadership Education & Development Office (LEAD) lsnyder2@gmu.edu
Lori Scher she, her, hers Yes Assistant Dean University Life lcohen@gmu.edu
Lori Yi She/Her/Hers Yes Yes Academic Advisor Film and Video Studies lyi3@gmu.edu
LuLu Géza they/them/theirs Yes Yes Alumni/Program Assistant Sociology & Anthropology/LGBTQ Resources ckelemen@gmu.edu
Lynne Scott Constantine Yes Yes Faculty School of Art lconstan@gmu.edu
Maggie Espino she/her/hers Yes Faculty INTO Mason mespino@gmu.edu
Mark Snyder he/him/his Yes Professor Computer Science msnyde14@gmu.edu
Mark Uhen he/him/his Yes Yes professor Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic, and Earth Sciences muhen@gmu.edu
Matthew Geske Yes Assistant Director Potomac Arts Academy mgeske@gmu.edu
Maxwell Gocala
he/ him/ his
Yes Undergraduate Recruitment and Outreach Coordinator
School of Business
mgocala@gmu.edu
Meaghan O’Malley she/her/hers Yes Yes Staff Library momalle2@gmu.edu
Megan Le She/her Yes Student Psychology mle21@gmu.edu
Melody Kujat she/her/hers Yes GRA at Gateway Library and Graduate Student Women and Gender Studies mkujat@masonlive.gmu.edu
Michael Galvin Yes Director Office of Tech Integration, University Life mgalvin@gmu.edu
Michael Guston Staff Police Department
Michele Pieper she, her, hers, herself Yes Yes Office Manager Computer Science mpieper@gmu.edu
Misty Krell she/they Yes Yes Director of Student Services School of Integrative Studies mkrell@gmu.edu
Nancy Xiong She, Her, Hers Yes Associate Director Women and Gender Studies nxiong@gmu.edu
Naomi Martinez-Jones Her/She Yes Director Disability Services nmarti20@gmu.edu
Natalie Niemeyer She/her/hers Yes Alumna Global Affairs and anthropology niemeyer.natalie@gmail.com
Nicholas Stroup he/him/his Yes Associate Director of Student Services Schar School of Policy and Government – Arlington Campus nstroup@gmu.edu
Nicole Sealey she/her/hers Yes Academic Director Mason Global Center nsealey@gmu.edu
Olivia Graham She/her/hers Yes Student Forensic Science ograham2@masonlive.gmu.edu
Olivia Roberts she/her/hers Yes Sophomore Volgenau School of Engineering arober26@gmu.edu
Patrice Levinson she/her/hers Yes Nurse Practitioner Student Health Services plevison@gmu.edu
Patricia Sodeifi Yes Registered Nurse Student Health Services psodeifi@gmu.edu
Patrick Vora he/him/his Yes Assistant Professor Physics and Astronomy pvora@gmu.edu
Paul Gorski he/him/his Yes Associate Professor Integrative Studies pgorski1@gmu.edu
Phil Rubin Yes Faculty Physics & Astronomy prubin@gmu.edu
R. Kevin Mallinson He Yes Yes Associate Professor School of Nursing rmallins@gmu.edu
Rabia Datta she/her/hers Yes Yes Staff LGBTQ Resources rdatta@gmu.edu
Rachel Jones she/her/hers Yes Faculty / Associate Prof. Philosophy and WMST Affiliated rjones23@gmu.edu
Rachel Lindsey she/her/hers Yes Assistant Director of Career Education University Career Services rlindsey@gmu.edu
Rebecca (Pierce) Howick she, her, hers Yes Enrollment Planning Manger School of Business rpierce4@gmu.edu
Rebecca Stone Yes Staff ITS-Learning Space Design rstone6@gmu.edu
Ric Chollar he/him/his Yes Yes Admin Faculty LGBTQ Resources rchollar@gmu.edu
Ricardo Vivancos-Perez he, his, él Yes Faculty Modern and Classical Languages rvivanco@gmu.edu
Rick Gray he/him/his Yes Associate Director Orientation & Family Programs & Services rgray11@gmu.edu
Robyn Mehlenbeck her, she Yes Director, GMU Center for Psychological Services GMU Center for Psychological Services/Psychology rmehlenb@gmu.edu
Rose Pascarell Yes Yes Vice President University Life rpascare@gmu.edu
Rosemarie Clink She/Her/Hers Yes Yes Student Psychology rclink@masonlive.gmu.edu
Sally Lorentson She/Her/Hers Yes Associate Dean University Life slorents@gmu.edu
Sam Arrighi they/them/theirs Yes Student Economics barrighi@gmu.edu
Sam Buttram he/him/his Yes Yes Student Education sbuttram@gmu.edu
Samantha Henry She, her, hers Yes Student Criminology shenry9@masonlive.gmu.edu
Sara Simanski she/her/hers Yes Academic Advisor School of Theater ssimansk@gmu.edu
Saskia Clay-Rooks
she/her/hers Yes Executive Director University Career Services sclayroo@gmu.edu
Scott Bailey Yes Client Services Manager Mason Learning Solutions sbailey1@gmu.edu
Sean McGowan
he/him/his Yes Manager of Industry Advising and Employer Development University Career Services smcgowa3@gmu.edu
Shannon Davis she/her/hers Yes Faculty Sociology & Anthropology sdaviso@gmu.edu
Shara Smith she/her/hers Yes Student Mathematics ssmith60@gmu.edu
sharon doetsch-kidder she/her Yes Term Assistant Professor of English and Assistant Pathways Coordinator CHSS and INTO Mason sdoetsch@gmu.edu
Sisc Johnson Yes Staff Student Centers sjohnsd@gmu.edu
Suzanne Scott Constantine Yes Yes Faculty School of Integrative Studies sscott3@gmu.edu
Tamara Harvey she/her/hers Yes Associate Professor of English English tharvey2@gmu.edu
Tamika Tai She/Her/Hers Yes Yes Resident Director Housing & Residence Life ttait@gmu.edu
Tanneh Kamara Yes Staff GeorgeSquared, College of Science tkamara@gmu.edu
Trasi Watson she/her/hers Yes Associate Director, Industry Advising & Employer Development University Career Services
twatso@gmu.edu
Valerie Bartush she/her/hers Yes Academic Advisor Student Affairs, College of Health and Human Services vbartush@gmu.edu
Vicki Kirsch Yes Faculty Social Work vkirsch@gmu.edu
Victoria Salmon Yes Associate Dean College of Visual and Performing Arts vsalmon@gmu.edu
Wayne Adams He, him, his Yes Yes Academic Advisor School of Art radams11@gmu.edu
Yassmin Salem She/her/hers Yes Student Fairfax ysalem@masonlive.gmu.edu
Zachary Onufrychuk Him/he/etc. Yes Graduate Student Criminology zonufryc@gmu.edu